Posted by: palmettoislandgirl | January 25, 2014

Reflections About Shooting on SCSU Campus and More

SC State Football Player Killed in Campus Shooting

As a native of Orangeburg, a graduate of SCSU and parent of a graduate and a current student, the tragic and violent death of a student at SCSU brings many thoughts to mind. I practically grew up on that campus and over the years the overwhelming majority of my memories of time spent there are good. The number of violent deaths on campus are thankfully low.

The most tragic and violent death I recall at this time was the stabbing death of Ronnie Carr by Elton Robinson. Ronnie was a year behind me, a popular basketball player with great potential. Elton lived one street over from me and the thought of a neighbor who killed a fellow student was devastating. Another Orangeburg tragedy was the shooting death of my classmate Willie Glover. It was said at that time that the shooter mistook Willie for his brother, John was the intended victim, I’m not certain in that turned out to be the actual scenario or not.

brandonrobinson

I didn’t know Brandon A. Robinson. He was only 20 years, a member of the S.C. State football team and an Orangeburg-Wilkinson High School graduate. I do know this event has rocked the world of many people on and off campus, in and far away from Orangeburg. Death causes to at least pause and reflect on our fragile lives. The tragic, sudden, and violent death especially of a young person often has an even greater affect. We think inward, evaluate the event and life. I hope as we reflect on this event, we turn to God for comfort and peace. He is surely not the cause of this but He can help everyone through this. Where sin abounds, grace does much more abound. God offers grace through this time. Often when death occurs we like Isaiah see the Lord for who He is. It was in the year King Uzziah died that I saw the Lord. He was sitting on a lofty throne, and the train of his robe filled the Temple. 2 Attending him were mighty seraphim, each having six wings. With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they flew. 3 They were calling out to each other, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of Heaven’s Armies! The whole earth is filled with his glory!” 4 Their voices shook the Temple to its foundations, and the entire building was filled with smoke. 5 Then I said, “It’s all over! I am doomed, for I am a sinful man. I have filthy lips, and I live among a people with filthy lips. Yet I have seen the King, the Lord of Heaven’s Armies.” 6 Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal he had taken from the altar with a pair of tongs. 7 He touched my lips with it and said, “See, this coal has touched your lips. Now your guilt is removed, and your sins are forgiven.”

If you are not 100% certain where you will spend eternity this is a great time to settle this situation.
God tells it like it is; we are all sinners Romans 3:23, we have broken God’s laws. God says sin must be punished, ‘For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord”. Romans 6:23 There isn’t enough good we can do to relieve us from this punishment, he cannot save ourselves from this death sentence but there is One who chose to save us and take the punishment for us. His sacrifice will be applied to us if we choose to accept it as the free gift that it is. God commended His love to us in that while we were still sinners, still choosing sin and rejecting Him, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8.

So God made a way out for us, a loving, sacrifice was made for us to be forgiven and adopted into God’s family and legally received as sons and daughters. John 1:11-14. So how do we get this gift? Jesus offers it to us, He calls us to come to Him, accept Him and his sacrificial gift. Believe that He is the one and only Son of God and the only one who can save and forgive us. Agree with God and admit your sinful condition. Believe that Jesus alone can rescue you from the punishment you deserve. Call on Jesus with your mouth to save you, receive Him by faith and trust He will do what He promised. At that moment of complete trust and faith in Jesus as Savior, your surrender to Him; He saves you and welcomes you into His family. I made that decision as a student as SCSU, in my dorm room in Williams Hall after reading a Chick tract left with me by a fellow student. Katherine used to stop by my room to visit and if I wasn’t in or just didn’t answer the door; she left me notes and tracts. I wondered why she did that because in my mind, I was already a Christian. I was going to church, Student Christian Association activities, singing on the gospel choir but I didn’t have a relationship with Jesus Christ. One day as I read that tract my eyes were opened to the reality of my sinful condition. I prayed with tears streaming down my face, though tears don’t affirm anything, and trusted Jesus as my Savior. I know some people may not like gospel tracts and especially not Chick tracts but they have a special place with me. You don’t have to have a tract, just read the verses of scripture. Faith in God comes by hearing the word of God. As you read it, the verses can transform your life.
Maybe there is a Christian student on campus who has taken the time to visit you and attempt to share God’s word with you. Make contact with that person who can go over scripture with you. You don’t have to try to come to terms with this alone.   I would commend some people to you who are connected with the college and live in Orangeburg, you can find them on Face Book.   Byron Jones BCM member, David and Candace Jackson former BCM members, Markia Randle former BCM member, Monet Heyward Baptist Collegiate Ministry director, Darrian Rivers BCM president, Bianca Rivers BCM member. There are other students and faculty who can guide you to the Savior.   Read an online bible or get a free bible app. Read the The Gospel of John, let God speak to you; you listen.   Visit our Word Up Facebook Group Page for more assistance.

Please see Byron’s video response to the shooting.  Byron’s Thoughts on the Shooting

Leave a Reply

Categories

